Skip to main content

Insurance - rule of contra proferentem & Ambiguity in language

In United India Insurance Co. Ltd. VS M/s Orient Treasures Pvt. Ltd.,the respondent company while appealing against the claim allowed by the National Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission as being too low. The issue was that respondent company’s claim after being burgled was rejected by the insurance company as according to the insurer the burglary took place in the night when the jewellery was kept in window display neither of which was covered by the policy.

Among the interesting aspect of this matter is that both the litigants referred to the same court decisions claiming that the said judgments support their cause. (This is a prefect example of the denseness of the legalese. It has been said that the language used in India is more archaic than that used in England). In any case the respondent company tried to invoke the “contra proferentem” rule claiming ambiguity in the language of the policy. The insurer said there is no ambiguity and that the respondent never raised this issue with the insurer or asked for any explanation till the burglary.

The relevant clauses of the policy stated :-

Clause 4) Window display at night is not covered.
Clause 5) We do  not cover stocks kept out of the safe---business hours at night.

The Hon’ble Supreme Court, referring to the judgment of the Constitution Bench of this Court in General Assurance Society Ltd. vs. Chandumull Jain & Anr., AIR 1966 SC 1644, explained that :-

1) A contract of insurance is a species of commercial transactions
2) Delay in issuing the policy makes no difference.
3) A contract is formed when there is an unqualified acceptance of the proposal. Acceptance may be expressed in writing or it may even be implied if the insurer accepts the premium and retains it.
4) In the case of the assured, a positive act on his part by which he recognises or seeks to enforce the policy amounts to an affirmation of it.
5) In interpreting documents relating to a contract of insurance, the duty of the court is to interpret the words in which the contract is expressed by the parties, because it is not for the court to make a new contract, however reasonable, if the parties have not made it themselves.

The Hon’ble Supreme Court while denying the appeal of the respondent stated that :-

1) As per clause 4, if the burglary had been committed during day time in business hours and in that burglary, the articles kept in display window were stolen then in such circumstances, the appellant was liable to reimburse the loss to the respondent of such stolen articles as insured articles under the policy but not if the burglary had been committed of the articles kept in display window during night time (after business hours).
2) As per clause 5, if the burglary had been committed during day time in business hours then the appellant was liable to reimburse the loss to the respondent of the stolen articles treating them as insured articles under the policy but not if the burglary had been committed of the stock/articles kept out of safe after business hours at night.

Comments

Most viewed this month

Dishonour of cheques - Jurisdiction and cause of action explained

In a landmark judgment, Hon'ble Supreme Court went to some length to define the cause of action and jurisdiction of cases under Section 138 of the Negotiable Instruments Act. While deciding in 2014 STPL(Web) 499 SC 1, Dashrath Rupsingh Rathod Vs. State of Maharashtra & Anr., the Hon'ble court said, one of the main issues faced by the court (a) from which stage do we consider a offence under Section 138 to have been caused (b) Where would the jurisdiction of the court lie if the cheque was drawn in city A and presented dishonored in City B ? After discussion on various past decisions, the Hon'ble court finally affirmed, " To sum up: (i) An offence under Section 138 of the Negotiable Instruments Act, 1881 is committed no sooner a cheque drawn by the accused on an account being maintained by him in a bank for discharge of debt/liability is returned unpaid for insufficiency of funds or for the reason that the amount exceeds the arrangement made with the bank. (...

Registrar cannot remove trademark from record without notice to trademark holder

In Kleenage Products (India) Private Limited vs The Registrar of Trade Marks, the petitioner had applied for registration of trademark ‘KLITOLIN’ which was accepted and from 1988 to 2009, the said trademark was renewed multiple times. The trademark was due for renewal on August 21, 2009, but the petitioner failed to tender application for renewal.  It was, thereafter, revealed that the trademark is likely to be removed from the register. The petitioner contended that the Registrar of Trademarks (respondent No.1) also failed to issue the requisite mandatory notice in Form O-3 to him (the registered proprietor) under Section 25(3) of the Trade Marks Act, 1999. The Bombay High Court allowed the petition holding that any such removal can only be possible if prior notice, mandatory under Section 25(3) of the Trade Marks Act 1999, has been given Article referred: http://www.livelaw.in/removal-registered-trademarks-cant-done-without-giving-prior-notice-registered-proprie...

Loss of earning capacity, and not percentage of disability, must decide compensation, says HC

While computing compensation claims of accident victims, the victim's loss of earning capacity shall outweigh the percentage/extent of his disability, the Madras high court has felt. Justice R Mahadevan, enhancing the compensation payable to an injured driver by Rs 2 lakh, said: "In cases for compensation, it is not the disability, which is partial or total, alone that matters, it is the loss in earning capacity as a result of accident that is to be considered." R Murali, driver of a mixed concrete vehicle, met with an accident in January 2009 and suffered injuries in hip, right leg and ankle. He claimed loss of 100% earning capacity and sought appropriate compensation along with 12% interest rate. However, as the disability certificate issued by a doctor pegged the percentage of his disability at 60%, the deputy commissioner of labour-II, awarded Rs 3.12 lakh as compensation, by fixing the monthly income at Rs 4,000. Aggrieved by the poor package, Murali filed the...